STOCKBRIDGE, MA, October 31, 2011– Peter D’Ambrosio, Johnny Haney, Lucy Holland,  Robert T. Horvath, John Hyson and Ned Lamont were elected to three-year terms on Norman Rockwell Museum’s Board of Trustees. The news was announced at the board’s annual meeting held on September 23, 2011. Off-going trustees include Jay Ireland, Michelle Gillett, Deborah McMenamy, and Mark Selkowitz.

“We are delighted to welcome our new board members,” says Norman Rockwell Museum Chairman Thomas L. Pulling. “These talented individuals offer us a great breadth of experience in the dynamic forces shaping the world today. They bring expertise in the illustration arts field, community connectivity, as well as corporate experience, especially valuable during these challenging economic times. We also express sincere thanks to our off-going trustees, who have given immense service to the Museum and have graciously offered to continue serving on important Museum committees.”

Norman Rockwell Museum’s Board of Trustees are dedicated to supporting the Museum’s mission to preserve, study and communicate the life and art of Norman Rockwell and the field of illustration with a worldwide audience. Immediate capital priorities include space and management plans for a record number of recent illustration art donations, implementation of the organization’s master plan, and building the Museum’s endowment. The Museum announced the retirement earlier this year of its $3.5 million MIFA bond issued in 1993 to build the new museum building; trustees turned immediately to securing the Museum’s financial foundation through endowment.

The Museum’s staff, trustee members and national council are also working to connect new audiences through enhanced educational experiences and innovative programs, with increased accessibility through digital technologies. This year’s successful launch of ProjectNORMAN expands these possibilities with over 40,000 digital records from the Museum’s vast collections and archives, now available worldwide online. The Museum’s collections continue to be sought around the world.

New Trustees

Peter D’Ambrosio, of Arlington, VA, is a partner with Winston & Strawn, in Washington, D.C., specializing in construction law and contracts.  Mr. D’Ambrosio served as Norman Rockwell Museum’s legal counsel for construction of the new Museum building, which opened in 1993.  He and his wife, Pamela are long-time friends and former National Council members of the Museum, which they joined in 2007.

Johnny Haney, of Bentonville, AR, heads Alliance Industries, a sales company, and is past District Chair for the Boy Scouts.  Mr. Haney is a collector and an authority on Norman Rockwell limited-edition prints, which he has researched extensively, sharing his knowledge with Norman Rockwell Museum.  He and his wife Beth are former National Council members of the Museum, which they joined in 2004.

Lucy Holland, of Lenox, MA, is the incoming Chairman of the Board of IS183, Art School of the Berkshires in Stockbridge, MA. She previously served as that organization’s Founding Chairman of the Board and Interim Executive Director from 1991 to 2001. A seasoned not-for-profit development and special events professional, Ms. Holland has held positions at The Museum of Modern Art, Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival, Hemming + Gilman Special Events, Harbor Festival of New York & New Jersey, and The Hoboken Cultural Council.

Robert T. Horvath, of St. Michaels, MD, and Monterey, MA, and his wife Lynne are former National Council members of Norman Rockwell Museum, which they joined in 2007. A painter, Mr. Horvath began collecting illustration art in the 1960s, and he and his wife have donated illustration art and promised a bequest to the Museum of works by illustrator Howard Pyle and his students.  He is Executive Director of the Talbot County Free Library, president of the Talbot County Visual Arts Center, and VP of St. Michaels Art League.

John Hyson, of Stockbridge, MA, is president of the Stockbridge Land Trust and vice-president of the Stockbridge Library Association.  For 36 years, Mr. Hyson served on the faculty of the School of Law of Villanova University, specializing in environmental law.  He has published articles in the fields of environmental and land use law and has authored a book on the federal Superfund law.  While at Villanova, he served on the board (including a term as president) of Regional Housing Legal Services.

Ned Lamont, of Greenwich, CT, is Founder and Chairman of Lamont Digital Systems, Inc, a privately held company which delivers foreign language, distance learning, and cable television programming to college campuses. In 2006 he was the Democratic nominee for the U.S. Senate in Connecticut.  Mr. Lamont is on the Board of Conservation Services Group, one of the nation’s largest energy efficiency companies, and Mercy Corps, an NGO providing economic development assistance in developing countries. He has taught at the Kennedy School of Government, the Yale School of Management, and is currently a distinguished professor at Central Connecticut State University.